Filmoteka Muzeum

Wyrzykowski's work, created on an Amiga computer, is based on Jan Matejko's series of portraits of the kings of Poland. The artist again confronted two seemingly disparate orders: the national and the rave. Kings of Poland dancing to techno (their eyes fixed in one place) were in line with other CUKT projects, such as Antielection, in which national motifs had a strong presence, and Techno National Anthem, composed by Virus, one of the group's members. The starting point for Wyrzykowski's video was his net-art project, probably the first internet art project in Poland, and a series of performances and art installation titled 44.


Year: 1995
Duration: 7'31"
Language: no language

© Piotr Wyrzykowski