• Andrzej Zborski, Photographic documentation of the Experimental Studio of the Polish Radio (SEPR), 1962

Andrzej Zborski is a photographer and member of the Polish Association of Photographers. In his practice of several dozen years, he has taken photographs of artists from the jazz environment, presented on the covers of gramophone discs (Stan Getz, Krzysztof Komeda, Tomasz Stańko), as well as iconic photographs of Warsaw, published in albums and magazines. 150 photographs by Zborski document the golden age of the Polish experimental music, when the Experimental Studio of the Polish Radio was the fourth professional centre of electronic music in Europe. It is one of the most pioneering experiments in the Polish contemporary culture. The establishment of SEPR in 1957 opened the era of  electroacoustic music in Poland. For 28 years the Studio was led by its founder, Józef Patkowski, outstanding musicologist, musical life animator and long-time president of the Association of Polish Composers and participant of Fluxus - an international movement of artists. The architectural design of the Studio was prepared by Oskar Hansen (1922–2005), outstanding architect, supporter of experiment and process in art. The Experimental Studio was the only centre of electroacoustic music to the east from the iron curtain.  The following persons recorded in the Studio: Krzysztof Penderecki, Włodzimierz Kotoński, Bogusław Schaeffer, Eugeniusz Rudnik, Bohdan Mazurek, Andrzej Dobrowolski, Arne Nordheim and others. The Museum of Modern Art in Warsaw intends to reconstruct Hansen’s Studio with the use of original technical devices located at Polskie Radio S.A. with photographs by Andrzej Zborski being used as the necessary step on the route towards the reconstruction and presentation of the experimental output of artists from Poland in the context of the world’s history of art. 


Year: 1962-1972
Medium: digital images
Format: cm

Acquisition: purchase
Ownership form: collection
Source: Andrzej Zborski
Index: MSN: 4300-29/2015
Acquisition date:
Financing source: Cofinanced by the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage under the 'National collections of contemporary art 2015' priority