Filmoteka Muzeum

Ten Works is a set of ten films by Wojciech Bruszewski from 1973-1977, comprising four film and six video works. The artist initiated and analysed complex relations of video/film representation, represented reality and the human perceptive-cognitive system. Bruszewski asserted the idea of reality dualism. He distinguished between its material aspect (physical reality) and mental aspect (our mental representations of reality). According to Bruszewski, a man growing up in Western culture is told to subordinate to the matter of reality he/she perceives according to specific, already defined cognitive models/patterns that he/she recognises as reality itself.

In the video works from the series Ten Works, the world is seen as a kind of material reservoir of audio-visual sensations, which we receive and filter (through our experience, culture and language, etc.), thus giving them meaning, which is often an unconscious process.

Quoted from: Ł. Ronduda, Analytical Video Art from the 70s [in:] Polish Video Art , H. Kuśmirek, R. Bromboszcz (eds.), Warsaw 2006.

Year: 1973
Duration: 31'12''
Language: English
Source: VHS

© collection of Museum of Modern Art in Warsaw

Acquisition date: Dec 27, 2011
Acquisition: gift
Ownership form: collection